Purposes: The Gun and The Shield

(A two-voiced poem by Tessa McGarry)

The Gun: I am dangerous

The Shield: I am defensive

I slaughter

I protect

Be cautious when I’m in the house

Feel grateful when you’re in my shadow

We both have purposes

My purpose is to hunt, to kill

My purpose is to defend, to shield

You know, on second thought, I don’t have a good enough purpose to exist

Nonsense! You can exist! You just have to scratch the word kill out of your dictionary!

I don’t know

I do

You really think so?

You hunt, no?

Yeah…

Without that hunting, people could die

That’s true

You have a purpose!

I have a purpose!

And what is that purpose?

To hunt, not kill

We both have purposes!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. devinmcg@att.net

     /  May 19, 2019

    Imaginative, poignant and apropos!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

Leave a comment